WX20191119-112127.png


Xiong Liang¨s Contributions to the Development of Children¨s Literature in China

A Jia, noted illustration commentator and founder of ^Red Clay Reading ̄


Xiong Liang's work is emblematic of writers and illustrators working in children's literature in China today, and Xiong himself is a towering figure in the field. His groundbreaking experimentation has not only produced eye-popping results, but!in his quest to give original illustration in China its own voice!has also yielded up extremely valuable experience.


The largely self-taught Xiong took his first steps into the world of illustration at the turn of the century. As of this writing he has published more than 70 children's books, 50 of which were illustrated. The books he wrote and illustrated himself span at least 17 different categories. Considering the scarcity of illustrated books in the Chinese children's literature market at the beginning of the 21st Century, it's fair to call his output 'prodigious' (indeed, it is unmatched inside China). Even more remarkable is the variety of styles he has boldly taken on from the very beginning, from works of ink wash painting and cut paper dripping with Asian tradition, to modern art bursting with color and individuality. His topics are similarly diverse, ranging from traditional Chinese folk art, nursery rhymes, legends, and Buddhist stories to children's works of pure fantasy. Some of his stories even draw on the everyday lives of today's children (especially those from rural areas). No matter his choice of medium, style, or subject, Xiong drive for artistic perfection has gradually brought into being a flawless, one-of-a-kind fusion of traditional and modern art. His artistic accomplishments and ceaseless illustration output has won him wide public influence. It's because of him that many people know that China has its own illustrated books, and because of him that many artists have made illustration their specialty.


Apart from his work on his own books, Xiong is gracious in sharing his experience with other illustrators. Through joint projects in workshops, leading classes, and any number of other different ways, he has worked to develop young artists. As a result, he's overseen the creation of almost as many books as he's made by himself.  It's no exaggeration to say that Xiong has had a profound influence on an entire generation of Chinese illustrators.


!A Jia    
November 29, 2016


!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


WX20191119-112916.png


Xiong Liang's Illustrations Belong Not Only to Asia, But to the World

Lilian San, Children's Book Publisher and Childhood Education Expert


In 1980, five year-old Xiong Liang picked up a paintbrush for the first time, and made his first picture. At the time, children's reading materials in China were limited largely to comic strips. In 1991, fifteen year-old Xiong started work on his first collection of illustrations. In 2002, now twenty-seven, Xiong started composing his first illustrated book; the very first shoots of original illustration in China were beginning to bloom. In 2014, with thirty-nine year old Xiong's publication of "The Solar Terms", the rest of the world began to take note of illustration in China.


Xiong's journey is a microcosm of the development of illustration in China, and his journey to creative maturity is likewise reflects the maturation of his field in his home country.


Firstly, Xiong Liang's work uses global, modern, artistic means to express the cultural magnetism of history, tradition, and Asia itself.


Most of Xiong's works choose one thing from China's ancient past on which to focus. This thing could be an image, for instance the little stone monkey from "Little Stone Monkey", or the small clay monkey from "The Toy Rabbit Story" (a local gift of choice to people visiting Beijing); or it could be a supernatural being, like the Kitchen God from the eponymous story "The Kitchen God", who legend has it lives in the homes of the common people, and ascends to heaven each year to report to the Jade Rabbit Emperor on the happenings down below.


Or it could be a calendar system. After millennia of tilling the soil, the people of ancient China subdivided the year into 24 segments, the first day of which was called a 'solar term'. For each solar term, there were certain things a farmer must do to guarantee each year's harvest.


It could also be a particular way of being. In "The Monster of the Monsoon", the monster spends the entire year in the rain, calmly looking forward to the day the sun will burst through the clouds. "I don't complain about things I can't change", it says, expressing a very Asian way of being.


Secondly, Xiong's works hint at some of the most essential elements of a child's psychology. Xiong himself is a kid through and through, and uses the tools of a child to create the books children most want to read.


Xiong's works offer stories from legend that don't require much background to understand, or much knowledge of ancient Chinese culture. What they offer, instead, is a kind of understanding, an understanding of the world seen through the eyes of one innocent to its ways!in other words, through the eyes of a child, exploring a new, unknown world.


Take "The Solar Terms" as an example. Open up any Chinese person's smartphone and call up the calendar app, and you'll see that!apart from normal holidays like New Year's and National Day holiday!it will have dates on it that make it what we call a 'new calendar'. The calendar will have the dates of the Spring and Autumn festivals, two traditional holidays that Chinese people love even today. It will also have Christmas, Easter, and Halloween, holidays with a fresh, 'foreign' feel to them inside China, which young mothers love to take part in along with their kids. The calendar will also mark the dates of events like the Spring Equinox and Grain Rain, the fourth and sixth 'solar terms' of the year, important dates for farmers in ancient China that, if missed, could ruin the whole year's harvest. Chinese urban dwellers love to think on these holidays, and the wealth of unusable knowledge and experience they represent.


Xiong believes that illustrated books for children are the best way to pass on culture. They're made for the innocence of childhood, and can thus be easily understood across cultures and age groups. There's a kind of equality to illustration that makes it the most grounded, natural form of narrative.


Thirdly, Xiong's works have a uniquely natural beauty to them, a pure and harmonious beauty. It is an eastern kind of beauty, and a human one also.


Xiong lives a life anchored in tradition. He is a vegetarian and uses a phone that's wildly out of date. He almost never reads the paper or watches the news. He studies martial arts, and can easily scamper up a tall tree.


All of Xiong's works are illustrated with Chinese brush techniques, and drawn on paper made of rice or silk. He draws on classic recipes for his coloration, made from pigments with names like 'cinnibar', 'malachite', 'muddy gold', 'ocher', 'garcinia', and 'rouge'. He both idolizes and studies in minute detail the work of famous 5th Century Chinese painter Zhang Sengyou and 17th Century painter Xiao Yuncong. These ancient masters taught him how to use Chinese calligraphic techniques to control the lines of his creations, how to render faces in a style both 'spare and vivid', and to create landscapes in the lofty, refined style appreciated by the intellectuals of ancient China.


But children reading his books don't need to know any of this to enjoy them!they're able to feel the warmth of their culture, and to understand that Chinese painting isn't something far removed from their lives, but rather something they can find in a storybook. For children outside China, his books leave a refreshing, unique impression, helping them to gradually develop their impressions of Asian art forms, and begin to enjoy forms of culture that are distinctly Chinese.


Fourthly, Xiong's works draw on plays, movies, novels, and even installation artwork. His books draw the reader into a sumptuous artistic journey through a mastery of various artistic forms that more often than not are fused into structures that lend the works a rich structural beauty.


Xiong loves the stage, a passion which has seen him create works like "Peking Opera Cats", and incorporate aspects of live performances into his illustrations. His illustrations have a distinct visual language reminiscent of the stage, or the view through a camera lens. He sometimes divides a thought into cross-sections that jump and change from page to page, driving deeper inside the thoughts layers, its transformation depicted with changes in colors, size, and perspective.


This is the structure of the stage inherent to his works, such that no matter their content, they all have an enchanting rhythmic and structural beauty. His regimentation of structure ensures that his work is of a consistently high level, instead of just occasionally brilliant.


Xiong is also an educator. In this role he's organized countless workshops for young artists, teaching them to create illustrations that children can appreciate, with their own structural beauty. In this way he is able to pass on his experience, and develop a new generation of talented Chinese illustrators. 


Xiong's works connect the people of today's China with the wisdom of their forefathers, children with the wisdom of adults, and make it possible for the West to appreciate the wisdom of the East.


The hand with which Xiong creates his illustrations is not only his own, but that of his era, and the illustrations created belong not only to the East, but to the entire world.


!Lillian San

December 13, 2016




Copyright©2019 Little Spark Studio All Rights Reserved

WX20191119-112127.png


熊亮对中国儿童文学发展的贡献

文/阿甲 (中国著名绘本评论家,红泥巴读书创始人)


熊亮是当代中国儿童文学界具有代表性的作家兼插画家,是图画书创作领域的领军人物。他开拓性的实验与探索,不但取得了令人瞩目的成就,而且在为中国原创图画书寻找属于自己的表达方式方面获得了非常可贵的经验。


主要依靠自学的熊亮自二十一世纪初涉足童书插画领域,到目前已出版的插画童书作品有70多种,其中50多种为图画书,而他自写自画的作品至少有17种。考虑到在二十一世纪初中国童书市场上图画书还是极为稀缺的品种,这样的创作数字可以说是极其高产的(在中国也是独一无二的)。更为难得的是,熊亮从一开始就在大胆尝试各种风格的创作,有富有浓郁东方传统的水墨画、剪纸,也有颇具个性表现色彩的当代艺术;而题材的选择也有很大的跨度,从中国传统的民间艺术、童谣、传说、佛教故事,到纯粹幻想的童话,也有依托当代儿童(尤其是乡村儿童)当下生活而创作的故事。无论选择怎样的媒材、风格和题材,作为艺术家的熊亮都在努力做到尽善尽美,渐渐地也形成了将传统艺术和当代艺术完美融合的独具一格的风格。由于其自身很高的艺术造诣,并且在图画书创作领域的不懈坚持,其创作在公共层面上也产生了相当广泛的影响,许多人因此而留意到图画书在中国的存在,也有一些艺术创作者因此而选择投身于图画书领域的创作。


除了自身的创作外,熊亮还非常乐意分享自己的创作经验,他通过工作室合作创作、工作坊授课等多种形式培养更为年轻的艺术家,经他的指导而创作的图画书在数量上也快接近他自己创作的作品了。可以肯定地说,熊亮对这一代中国原创图画书创作者的影响是深远的。


阿甲写于2016年11月29日


————————————————————————————————————————————


WX20191119-112916.png


熊亮绘本,不仅是属于东方,也是属于世界的

文/ 三川玲(lilian) 童书出版人,儿童教育学者


   1980年,5岁的熊亮第一次拿起了画笔,画出了人生的第一幅画,彼 时,中国的儿童读物是连环画;1991年,15岁的熊亮开始创作第一本文图集,2002年,27岁的熊亮开始画自己的第一个 绘本,彼时,中国的原创绘本刚刚萌芽;2014年,39岁的熊亮画出了《二 十四节气》,此时,中国的绘本开始走向世界。


熊亮的绘本之路,中国绘本之路的缩影;熊亮的创作之路,是中国绘本走向成熟之路。


其一、熊亮的作品,把历史的,传统的,东方的文化魅力,用世界的,现代的,艺术的方式呈现了出来。


熊亮的大部分作品都在说一件中国古时候就有的东西。


这个东西可能是一个形象,比如《小石狮》里面的石头小狮子,《兔儿爷》里面兔儿爷(这可是你来北京最可能收到的礼物);也有可能是一个神仙,比如《灶王爷》中的灶王爷,据说这位神仙平时住在老百姓家里,每年会上天给玉皇大帝汇报下界的情况;


这个东西还可能是一种历法,几千年的农耕经验,让中国古人把每年划分成24个段落,每个段落的开始那天,就是某个节气。农人在一个节气中必须要做一些固定的农事,这样就能保证一年的收成;


这个东西还可能是一个生活态度,在绘本《梅雨怪》中,梅雨怪在下整整一年雨的时候,还是非常平和地盼望着一年当中唯一的阳光万丈的那一天。“对不能改变的事,我从来不抱怨”,这是一种很东方的生活态度


这个东西还可能是一阵风,在熊亮的最新作品《和风一起散步》里面,他把2300多年前的作家宋玉的作品《风赋》里面描述风的一个段落,给画了出来。


如果你提前了解了熊亮的作品是些这样的内容,你很可能会有阅读的心理障碍,你觉得你应该是个中国通,甚至是个中国古文化通,才能看懂这些作品。但其实是,无论东方人还是西方人,无论成人还是小孩,都能轻易读懂熊亮的作品并沉醉其中。


其二,熊亮的作品,暗含了儿童心理学的要素。他自己是一个彻底的孩子,所以他用孩子的方式,创作出了孩子最能懂的作品。


熊亮的作品提供的不是一个需要交代很多背景的传说故事,也不是一些中国古文化知识,他的作品提供的是一种理解,一种对世界的理解,一种零经验下对世界的理解——而这,正是儿童探索未知世界的状态。


举作品《二十四节气》为例谈谈。现在,你如果打开中国人的智能手机,打开那个叫“日历”的app,你会发现,日历里面除了标明哪天是元旦,哪天是国庆,中国人把标这样日期的年历,叫做新历;这份年历还会标明哪天是春节中秋节,这是中国人至今还投入巨大热情度过的传统节日;年历中还会标明哪天是圣诞节复活节万圣节,这是中国人觉得很新鲜很洋气的节日,年轻母亲很热衷带着小孩子参与进去;这份年历还会标明春分谷雨芒种这样的节气,这是中国古代农人安排农事活动的重要时间节点,错过了很可能影响一年的收成。对于生活在都市中的人们来说,这些日子是一些想起来很美好的感觉,也是一堆这一辈子永远也用不上的知识和经验。


然而,在《二十四节气》里面,从头到尾,没有知识,也没有经验,尽管就在前不久,二十四节气还入选了联合国非物质文化遗产名录。


他在作品里面画了一个泥土小人,这个小人在躺在皑皑的白雪之下,慢慢苏醒,然后站立起来,随着画面的流动,翻页的推进,泥土小人开始长出小草芽,开始披上茂密的植被,小人会走路,会蹦跳,会舞蹈,会在最热的那个节气泡到水里去降降温……到绘本的结尾处,小人又躺了下来,大雪纷飞,覆盖了它——如果你还想经过一年,或者再见到它,请从第一页再看一遍。


孩子是没有经验的,世界对于他们来说是未知的、全新的。他们要去经历这个世界,才能够感觉到自己跟世界的关系。而这个泥土小人,是让孩子们感到非常亲切的形象;孩子们对经历未知世界怀有疑虑和恐惧,但如果派他们喜欢的泥土小人去经历这一切,他们会觉得非常安全,也会比平时更关心事情的进展和结果。这也是儿童心理学里面,隐喻故事能够起到治疗效果的原因。


熊亮认为给儿童看的绘本是传递文化最佳的方式,因为是从一无所知的儿童经验开始,所以跨越文化、年龄,任何人都能看懂。绘本创作里面包含了一种平等的、普适的、最自然的叙事方式。


其三、熊亮的作品,呈现出来一种独特的自然之美,纯真之美,和谐之美。这种美,是东方之美,也是人类之美。


熊亮的生活方式具有古意,他食素,他用旧款的手机,他几乎不看报纸电视,他还习武,能够轻易地攀爬上高树。


熊亮的所有作品都用中国毛笔绘就;他的所有作品都画在中国古人画画的宣纸或者丝绢上,他使用中国传统绘画特有的矿物颜料——这些颜料的名字叫朱砂、石绿、泥金、赭石、藤黄和胭脂。熊亮一直崇拜并且学习的是一千五百年前的画家张僧繇,一千两百年前的贯休,四百年前的萧云从,这些古代艺术家教会了他用中国书法的方式来控制线条、教会了他如何画“短而丰腴”的人物的脸,教会他画中国古代知识分子理解的那种雅致高远的风景。


不过,读绘本的孩子并不需要知道这么多才能享受这些作品——中国的小孩能够感受到文化中的亲切感,知道中国画离自己不是那么遥远,而是在故事书里面。对于中国之外的孩子来说,是一种特别的、新鲜的印象,这也是这些孩子慢慢对东方风格形成印象的开始,也是他们能够享受包含中国风格在内的多种文化魅力的开始。


其四、熊亮的作品,使用了戏剧、电影、小说,乃至装置的综合艺术形态,阅读熊亮的绘本,使读者进入一次艺术盛宴的旅行,而这些综合的艺术形态,往往统一在某种结构之中,使得他的作品富有结构之美。


熊亮热爱戏剧,他不但创作了与戏剧相关的作品《京剧猫》,他还用做戏剧的方式来做绘本。熊亮的绘本有非常明晰的戏剧语言,镜头语言,他会截取思维中的关键点,每一次翻页,都是思维的一次跳跃和转变,然后层层推进。而思维的转换,是以色彩、大小、远近的变化来实现的。


这是内在的戏剧结构,使得熊亮的作品在不论内容的情况下,充满着迷人的节奏之美,结构之美。对结构规律的梳理,使得熊亮能够保证所有的作品保持高水准,而不是才华偶然一现的作品。


熊亮还同时是位绘本教育家,他组织了不少针对年轻创作者工作坊,指导他们创作出符合儿童经验的,具有结构之美的绘本,这可以使他的创作经验能够传承,也为中国原创绘本培养了人才。


熊亮的作品能够把中国古人的智慧介绍给今天的人,能够把大人的智慧介绍给孩子们,能够把东方的智慧,让西方读懂。

熊亮创作绘本的手,不仅仅是自己的,也是时代的。熊亮创作的绘本,不仅是属于东方的,也是属于世界的。


                 ——三川玲写于2016年12月13日



版权所有:小亮人